Update on yesterday’s pondering.

I don't know where the heart symbol came from. I explained yesterday that the heart symbol doesn’t actually look like the muscley fist that the heart really is. Cap’n Cara left a comment on my WordPress link on Facebook that perhaps the heart symbol was modeled after a ventricle.

This seems plausible, but that seems like whoever came up with the symbol hadn’t exactly performed an autopsy to create this symbol.

If I had any intelligence in my brain, I would have gone to Wikipedia and just looked the damn thing up. I mean, that’s where when I go to find out anything else. It’s the Urban Dictionary of encyclopedias.

Anyway, want to know what it said?

It said that any of these options were viable inspiration for the heart symbol:

– The seed of the silphium plant, used in ancient times as an herbal contraceptive.
– Features of the human female body, such as the female’s buttocks, pubic mound, or spread vulva. The tantric symbol of the “Yoni” is another example of a heart-shaped abstraction of a woman’s vulva.
– Derived from the shape made by swans’ necks in a courting ritual, which resembles the heart shape.
– Inverted heart symbols have been used in heraldry as stylized testicles (coglioni in Italian) as in the canting arms of the Colleonis of Milan.

Well, there’s my answer. It all boils down to the vulva.

I never really pictured myself using the word “vulva” in my blogging adventures. It feels… weird, and kind of like I am teaching a sex ed class.

Leave a Reply

