Awesome email from vegetarian Cap’n Cara.

We email updated each other on Friday. I wrote to her about my life, and she wrote back about her romantic Valentine’s Day tapas dinner.

I ate sweetbreads. And yellowfin tuna. And razor clams. (And veggies!) Yes, you read that correctly. It’s amazing what a little alcohol on an empty stomach will encourage me to eat.

Did I mention she’s a vegetarian? Well, a shitty one, anyway. She emailed me a few months back and said that when she was in New York that she had accidentally eaten a bite of GVlad’s brisket sandwich at Num Pang because it was perfectly square, like how tofu might appear. I believe this is not a mix up, but rather, a subconscious desire to start eating meat after 10 years of being a vegetarian. I’d like to think that I, in part, have something to do with this, but the truth is, Thursday night I made tofu tacos and enjoyed them profusely.

2 comments
  1. I would like to take full responsibility for getting Cara to eat meat.

  2. You mean you’re not ok with her reasoning that it was just alcohol and hunger induced?

Leave a Reply

