Study Break

I have abandoned my current hope of running a Tumblr design blog. As it turns out, I’m not all that interested about blogging about design 7 days a week.

Moving on.

I’m designing packaging for my Vis Comm class. The problems never resolve themselves. Every idea I have reverts back to my original idea, which is really not that clever or interesting, and it causes all text to have to be centered on this enormous 18x24x7 box. Basically, what I’m saying is, my ideas are poop and the mock ups look like shit.

I decided that it was time to get serious instead of fretting over it while trying to fall asleep.

Idea that has been getting my mojo going:

Minimalist effect in a maximalist market by Antrepo. A study in toning down packaging to its core. There’s a second edition here.

I complained to HAC on Tuesday that I felt uninspired and yucky. Yesterday we discussed that going to class to discuss my design conundrum was actually helpful, and I’m now on the right track. We also tried to understand if time = better finished product or just a good idea = better finished product.

Then I saw this this morning.

Question answered.

[Illustration by Christoph Niemann from his book Abstract City, via swiss miss via explore]

Also, I’ve said basically nothing of substance this week. That’s because #whatshouldwecallme has been killing all my brain cells. Also, I saw that Taco Bell has been testing Dorito flavored taco shells, so all energy has been directed towards crossing my fingers that this happens. If you know me well enough, you know that I am on the eternal hunt for the perfectly seasoned Dorito, and that in my circle of friends, I am the Dorito connoisseur. In any case, does it matter that I’ve never eaten anything from Taco Bell before? No.

Leave a Reply

