Day 5: Snorkeling and Zapatillas Cays


Friday we woke up and it was still raining. We debated whether or not our plan to go snorkeling was going to be a wash or not. After breakfast, Kelly, the Jamaican by heritage by Bocas born and raised captain of La Loma who consistently had a life altering smile on his face, declared that it was going to be good weather, despite the rainy start.

62

So we went snorkeling. Our day trip companions were two emergency doctors from Newfoundland. Besides Kelly, I was the least susceptible to being sunburnt. Everyone else was roughly the color of bright white printer paper.

69

70

71

We started around Coral Cay. I, perhaps, had an unfair advantage with the snorkel and fins. I’m not exactly well versed in open water snorkeling. In fact, I’ve only done it once before this trip in Cabos San Lucas. Well, and another time at Typhoon Lagoon at Disney World but I’m pretty sure we don’t count that as “open water.” My advantage comes from my childhood, my brother and I spent summers at the pool at the country club, where we would swim around the pool in full mask and snorkel, and flippers. I am talking hours and hours of this shit. I now laugh thinking about it. What did we look like at 6 and 9 years old, swimming around the pool with snorkel gear on? We must have looked like enormous dorks. But hey… those years served me well. Putting on a snorkel now is like second nature.

76

78

We snorkeled.

79

All day.

86

Also, I love the ocean.

87

90

Also, I am so glad I bought this Kodak waterproof camera.

92

93

94

81

After seriously doing some damage to my sinuses, we went to Zapatillas Cay for the afternoon. B and I walked around most of the island, then attempted to swim around an area where a lot of trees had fallen, but we misjudged how far it was, and had to turn back and then walk all the way back around. The water was clear, no one was around, and then we laid in the water for a while. We watched Kelly, who was manning the boat just off shore, and wondered what he was thinking about as he was staring off in the distance. B asked him later and Kelly said “I’m just happy.” It would be hard not to be, sitting there, staring out at the water.

sloth in a tree

We got back on the boat just as it started to rain. We stopped at the bar at Coral Cay on the way back. I had a pina colada that was like frothy warm beer, and then we saw some sloths at what I believe someone told me was “Sloth Island.” Can you see the slothiness in that photo? And why yes, sloths are as hard to find in real life as they are in that photo. They aren’t exactly quick. They will hang onto branches for days eating leaves, only removing themselves to evacuate the tree so they can poop. This seems inefficient, but gives new meaning to the words “sloth like.”

100

We also saw some dolphins. Trying to spot them is like waiting for one of those old school gopher arcade games. The 5 of us were sitting very silently in the boat, scanning the horizon, waiting for dolphins. Of course, when they breach it lasts for about a second so you must be adept with pointing and shooting with no real science behind it. I’m kinda good at that.

99

I was tired that night. I have spoken of 10 hour beach sleep nights, the nights where you are so tired that all you can do is get in bed and pass out and sleep forever. That is essentially what I did. Until the next morning when I peeled myself out of bed to go retrieve our coffee and muffins that were delivered to our cabin every morning. Yes, that’s right, room service in the jungle. Mwahaha.

And why yes, there are more photos here.

Leave a Reply

