Photos from Lately

melons

Summertime is here!

Driving range

I’ve turned into Tiger Woods. I am of course implying that I have become a sex crazed addict and not a professional golfer.

Untitled

My darling Lucas.

Oysters at Pearl's

Oysters at Pearl Oyster Bar on Memorial Day Weekend when there was NO WAIT for seats.

Jeso

Jeso is a percentage Native American. No really, she is. That’s why we made her stand next to this statue on Grand.

panting at the picnic

Had a Memorial Day kitteh picnic in which Earnest panted the entire time and rolled around in the grass.

I'm with Mitt: A Better Amercia

Saw Mikey for a drink and he showed me the “I’m With Mitt” app and the typo that says “Amercia.”

Mutant Blueberry

Mutant Blackberry

I’ve been quite excited about all the produce available now that it’s springtime. Specifically, berries. Except I’ve been eating so much of them that I’ve started discovering deformities in them. I can’t tell if conjoined fruit is a problem or not, but of course you know that I had to watch this youtube clip on conjoined twins and of course I found it fascinating.

Taryn Simon at MoMA

I was at MoMA last week to see the Ecstatic Alphabet/Heaps of Language exhibition and then also perused the Taryn Simon A Living Man Declared Dead and Other Chapters I–XVIII photo exhibit. She spent 4 years traveling and researching bloodlines. The exhibit is walls covered in photographs in strict grids. The storylines vary, one work was about genocide victims in Bosnia, another was the bloodline of Hans Frank, who was Hitler’s legal advisor. Really interesting, and completely chilling.

Washington Square Park

Thursday evening in Washington Square Park.

Untitled

Saturday night sunset from Jimmy.

Untitled

Sunday at the Andrew Freedman House, 167th and Grand Concourse, the Bronx. If you’re too lazy to click on the link, here’s the synopsis: Andrew Freeman, a wealthy New Yorker, built this huge palazzo in the Bronx as a home for those who had lost their riches and didn’t want to become “commoners.” The house is 111,000 square feet. It opened in the late 1920s and close around 1980 when the funds dried up. Now it’s run by the Mid Bronx Senior Citizens Council and the space is used for community programs.

Untitled

The kittehs and I went on a field trip to go see the No Longer Empty This Side of Paradise exhibit that was happening there. And by George! Yes… the title of the exhibition was lifted from the book by F. Scott Fitzgerald. I mean… who else was so endlessly obsessed with aristocracy?

Untitled

Room of Post Its by Mario Chamarro and Daniel Paluska (called, the Happy Project).

Untitled

My eyebrows and the gold room. (Then and There, Cheryl Pope.)

Untitled

Birthday dessert at Spot Dessert Bar for B’s 27th. He couldn’t decide what he wanted and asked for my opinion and I told him “Get whatever you want, it’s your birthday!” and the waiter took the hint and later brought a cupcake with a candle and had the waitstaff sing happy birthday. Did I mention it was just me and him? I laughed maniacally as surprised Asian onlookers looked on.

Untitled

Earnesto. He’s been extra facially expressive lately. What can I say?

1 comment

Leave a Reply

