Satellite

On our road trip to Vermont, Jeso and I discussed the history of our lives. At one point, I shared with her that my first for-real boyfriend was devoted to Phish, which obviously led to discussion of musical tastes when you are 16 years old. Then Dave Matthews came on the radio.

Today I was driving back to New York and “Satellite” came on the radio. I haven’t heard this song in a trillion years. Sometime after high school, people declared Dave Matthews “lame” and stopped listening to him. I was never a devoted fan but it is not to be denied, the combination of saxophone and violin mixed with my imaginative moment of touching Dave Matthews’ hair is quite pleasing when driving down Route 8 in a weird sunny/rainy atmosphere and one is not in an especially big rush.

Leave a Reply

