Alaska: Anchorage Part II and leaving for Seward

I took over 700 photos while I was away. I thought I might be able to get away with a post a day for each place we went, which would still be 4 days, but then I remembered I took another 100 photos with my iPhone and I thought… damnit. Plus, my cousin HAC demanded more photos, and I do not like to disappoint.

the gaslight

bike riding in Anchorage

bike riding in Anchorage

smoked salmon sign

sourdough sign

33

snowden building

typography I spied in Alaska

These are the end of my Anchorage photos. Plus… this interesting array of typographic choices I noticed while traveling. Alaskans really REALLY like Papyrus font. Especially in all caps. I guess they find it rustic. And of course, Comic Sans is rampant on everything including yoga studio signs and also… Christmas ornaments.

The word “sourdough” is used in Alaska. I thought Brother told me it was slang for someone living their first year in Alaska, but Urban Dictionary told me otherwise and said it’s a true Alaskan, while Suite101 told me sourdoughs are people sour about living in Alaska and don’t have the dough to leave. I don’t know. I’d prefer to think of it as a loaf of bread, but you know…

Anyway. On Tuesday afternoon, after Brother’s trial wrapped up and we had huge bowls of udon and dumpling soup, we drove south to Seward. The ride was beautiful, and though I am a great lover of car naps, my dad was sitting behind me and kept poking me awake to take photos for him since I was sitting shotty.

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

Route 1 to Seward

You can see Part I of the photos here.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

