I saw Ferris Bueller’s Day Off for the first time.

Yesterday I received a small nugget of pop culture education. Dominic and I watched Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. For the past 26 years I have managed to remain ignorant of the valuable history lessons that this film holds. Namely, that Ferris Bueller was the original Kevin McCallister and Jennifer Grey really was the face of the 80s.

It’s probably hard for you  anyone (except me) to understand the vast exaggeration that people make of Ben Stein’s “anyone” bit. Can you imagine being 27 and for your (perceived) entire life hearing people say “Anyone? Anyone?” as if this was a brilliant line they conjured up on their own, and then hearing other people laugh like it was funny, and you still being completely stumped as to what this meant, and then being 27 and seeing this movie and thinking “wow, I haven’t been missing anything this entire time?” Well, THIS IS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME YESTERDAY.

Cable television also had this effect on me several years ago. Or maybe it’s an ineffect as I haven’t really been all that impressed with its self proclaimed superiority over the antennae television of my youth.

I’m still holding out hope that at least some of the other items on my list may yield some sort of pop culture nirvana:
The Breakfast Club, I was told the other week it was a movie about existentialism. I’m skeptical.
Taco Bell, any value from this experience seems highly unlikely given that I like $20 enchiladas from a grammatically incorrect Mexican chain in New York.
Anchorman, specifically to understand the context of “I’m kind of a big deal.”
Slurpees, or is it not plural?
Sixteen Candles
Pretty in Pink
Never Ending Story

This is where you grab your face and pull your eyes back and scream “WHAT DID YOU DO YOUR ENTIRE CHILDHOOD?” and I look at you like “I don’t know.”

If you have other suggestions, please leave them below or on the social media of your choice, I think I’d like to compile a user-generated list and make a mockery of myself.

[gif created by me. At least I am not missing out on the memes of the 21st century.]

2 comments

Leave a Reply

