I saw The NeverEnding Story for the first time.

In an ongoing effort to catch up on things that were relevant in my youth, I watched The NeverEnding Story last week. My friend Amanda has so much pop culture knowledge that she dispenses it on the regular and likes to make other people (re: me and Trevortin) lists of film/television/general pop culture to catch up on.

Much like my Ferris Bueller’s Day Off experience, my expectations were over inflated and full of fanciful delusions. But in the case of this film, I had only one hope; that seeing it would somehow make up for years of people crying out “you haven’t seen NEVERENDING STORY!?”

It all started out innocently enough. Dominic and I had a debate as to whether Bastien and Atreyu were the same actor. I commented positively on the special effects being so convincing considering it was 1984.

Then.

The swamp of sadness happened.

swamp of sadness

I often find myself in a similar power struggle: while not a horse, Earnest wears a harness similar to a saddle, and he can be a stubborn dick when taken on a walk. Anyway. I could relate to Atreyu’s despair of trying to get his horse through the swamp. Maybe so much, that when Artax sunk into the mud I cried into Dominic’s shoulder.

Oh yeah. That happened!

Actually, I didn’t even see the technicalities of Artax being absorbed into the earth because I had to look away.

Tell me, were you this horrified when you watched THE NEVERENDING STORY in like, the 80s? Moreover, did you take away the same “save the planet” message that I did, in 2013? The imagery of Fantasia, broken into a million pieces and free floating in the universe left me to wonder what will become of my posterity. The earnestness of the childlike empress’ face didn’t help my existential quandary either as there were actual tears rolling down her face while screaming “Bastien!” Laugh about the ridiculousness of a flying dog, friends, but a planet busting apart seems not far off from where we’re headed.

I imagine this post will be when people stop recommending movies to me because you are sick of my analytical tirades, but if you don’t hate it completely, leave your suggestions for my next viewing below!


My first first viewing: Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

3 comments
  1. Amanda said:

    I AM SO THRILLED YOU HAVE FINALLY AND FULLY EXPERIENCED THIS CINEMATIC GEM.

Leave a Reply

