Thank you, friends.

birthday cake and candles

photo I stole from AS!

Yesterday was quite a day. I already felt the birthday love at 11:45AM, which was before I yogacized and before I ate 3 pieces of cake. And had a birthday party!

I’ve had plenty of birthday parties, but the last few years I’ve been hiding out from friends on my birthday as I’ve come to dread it. Jeso and Dominic decided this year they were putting their collective foot down and planning me a party. But I explicitly said “no surprises” after Jeso’s surprise and they played by the rules.

It was amazing!

I always hear people whining about how they don’t want to go to so-and-so’s birthday party because it’s going to be a drag, so I always feel self indulgent expecting people to come to celebrate “me” because that seems like not a very big draw. But wow! It is really fun and great when people show up just for you! I was very flattered, and felt very loved. And it feels like the very first time that I’ve had a birthday and been able to appreciate that.

Enlightenment! Oh yeah! That’s a pretty good birthday present too.

Thank you friends, who celebrated me from near and far. I love you all so so so so much.

1 comment
  1. Shoko said:

    happy belated birthday, elle!

Leave a Reply

